Recipes | Mexican Cassrole with Avocado Salad   Leave a comment

Make it a Mexican Night!

 

I wanted to share this casserole recipe because I have been making this for about 3 years now not only for myself but for new mother’s & grieving families. I LOVE this recipe because I use fresh produce not canned except for the beans! It’s so much more delicious on the taste buds I think to use fresh chopped tomato then canned! 

Anyway, if you like Mexican food you will probably like this one. It’s not TOO south western spicy either.

Image

Ingredients:
 
Original Recipe
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1 (16 ounce) can chili beans, drained
  • 3 cups tortilla chips, crushed
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 1 (2 ounce) can sliced black olives, drained
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh tomato
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
My Recipe
 
1 can of black beans – drained
I don’t count how many cups of tortilla chips I just eye it
I don’t use olives either
 
Directions
 
 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
In a large skillet over medium-high heat, cook ground beef until no longer pink. Stir in salsa, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in beans, and heat through.
Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray. Spread crushed tortilla chips in dish, and then spoon beef mixture over chips. Spread sour cream over beef, and sprinkle olives, green onion, and tomato over the sour cream. Top with Cheddar cheese.
Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. 

 

Image

2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon country-style whole-grain mustard
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup frozen corn, thawed
1 ripe avocado, diced
1 cup diced red bell pepper
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
1/4 cup diced celery
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions, white and green parts
Optional add-ins: cooked or canned beans, shredded cheese, crushed taco chips, tomato chunks
1. In a large bowel, whisk together the lemon juice and mustard. Add the olive oil, whisking until smooth. Add remaining ingredients, and toss gently to combine.
2. Add salt and freshly-ground black pepper to taste and serve immediately.
Serves 4.

I only added in the chips & chopped tomato. I also used real lime & squeezed some extra lime flavor in with the salad. I heard good things. I haven’t made this myself but will try soon!

 

Posted March 19, 2012 by craftymsjackson in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

