Dinosaur Birthday Party!   Leave a comment

My little guy recently had a First Birthday March 6 -2011 . We celebrated it a a week early since we were moving (we’re Military family) and we wanted a chance for our little friends to come celebrate before we shipped out! I made his nursery theme Dinosaur, as well as his Halloween costume, so why not make his First Birthday Dinosaur too?! I didn’t really do this for my Daughter but I had an obsession with DINOSAUR. Yes, he even has dinosaur infant cap given to me, socks to go with and tops!

Anyway, by inspirational ideas I’m going to share photos from the Birthday! I don’t take credit for the ideas just creation! I incorporated from different sites too. 🙂

FOSSIL ICE!

Gotta have something festive & cool in your drinks, right?! Now, I ordered this from Amazon, 3B Scientific Fossil-Iced Silicone Ice Tray, T-Rex

so I started about 4 days ahead and started making ice. I got the idea from http://stuff.icanhascheezburger.com/2011/09/01/cute-kawaii-stuff-fossiliced-dino-cubes/comment-page-1/#comment-24676

 THE FOOD!

Earth Lay – Sour Cherry Balls, Malted Easter Eggs, Gummy Worms, Crushed Oreo.

Label – Foam sticker, Color Card stock, stencil (google search) folded Card stock

Thanks, http://blog.hwtm.com/2011/07/rawr-means-happy-birthday-in-dinosaur/

I used Gluten Free all purpose flour. Turned out dry but think I left it in too long. Just regular spaghetti sauce, nothing special!

I actually used a pizza dough recipe to make bread sticks. BAD IDEA!

But, I think you get the idea! 🙂

I made Lava Juice but unfortunately didn’t get the picture 😦 Basically, it’s just fruit punch! 🙂

I had it in a yellow pitcher so it wouldn’t make a good picture!

Thanks to http://www.oopseydaisyblog.com/2011/08/dinosaur-play-day-a-couple-of-craft-addicts.html though for the ideas!

RICE KRISPY TREATS – Dinosaur!

I bought dinosaur sandwich cutters then colors green into white chocolate melted. It’s not fancy but it did what I wanted!

Just gave it a woody effect to it!

Thanks to http://sweetsindeed.com/blog/tag/dinosaur-rice-krispie-treat/

THE CAKE!

Credits go to my husband for actually creating this!

Ingredients: cinnamon apple chunk muffin mix, then used green food coloring in  cream cheese frosting!

I used jelly beans for rocks and teeth!

He used butterscotch for the detail, and chocolate chips as well as Hershey’s drops and maybe some mini Reese’s peanut butter cups!

Idea: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/rex-the-dinosaur-cake/3134d1ed-d6a5-4cd9-9689-44868901548a

Bought the tray from Wal mart!

DECORATIONS!

I used stencils from Google and Power Point to make slides!

I’m cheap as I did have fish line but just used white yarn to hand this with and used my 3 whole paper punch!

Got the idea from http://blog.hwtm.com/2011/07/rawr-means-happy-birthday-in-dinosaur/

I went to Petsmart to buy Aquarium Gravel and stumbled upon this Pine Tree and I was looking for a Pine Tree to go with the theme. So, I said the heck with it and got it!

The Dinosaurs came from Dollar store. Moss as well.

Dinosaur Sensory Bin

Aquarium Gravel – I bought about 4 bags – Styrofoam Balls from Hobby Lobby and brown paint. Dinosaurs from Dollar Store.

The bin you can find anywhere like this but I bought one from a prior play date using rice from Walmart and has a lid to it. It has wheels so it’s easy to maneuver with.

Also, the moss from Dollar store incorporated to get the whole dinosaur feel!

Thanks, http://www.playcreateexplore.com/2010/08/sensory-bin-dino-land.html

THE GOODY BAGS

I didn’t put them in anything fancy — just used my sons’ Easter basket.

It’s pretzel sticks, sour cherry balls, gummy worms, butterscotch chips, choc. chips, Easter eggs.

Thanks, http://laura-elephantjuice.blogspot.com/2011/01/barretts-dinosaur-partypart-i.html

Posted March 28, 2012 by craftymsjackson in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

